Ancient History

AATGD_STILL_03-670x405I’ve been fascinated with palaeontology ever since I watched the Jurassic Park series when I was young; likewise, with archaeology ever since I studied Egyptology in junior school. Therefore, whenever there are programmes on such as David Attenborough and the Giant Dinosaur (BBC One, January 12th 2016) and America’s Hidden Pyramid City (Channel 5, February 1st 2016) I HAVE to watch them!! I personally find it mesmerising to see how life was all those years ago.

Admittedly, I have always, and still want to become either a palaeontologist or archaeologist; however, considering the fact I suffer from really bad heat rash I had to choose my career path based on my head, rather than my heart. So if I pass my exams this summer I can finally begin a Journalism degree, which I hope will allow me to go on to become a writer in one of the above fields, in which I’ll get the best of both worlds. I also have to confess that even though I’m not a very emotional person at all, I did in fact cry at the end of David Attenborough and the Giant Dinosaur, it was just so beautiful to see how the Titanosaur would have possibly looked and how its anatomy most likely functioned when it was alive.

Whether you believe in past lives or not, I would love to witness, or at least recall, how I lived out my past lives; particularly to observe how life was throughout different eras. To be able to understand what happened during the Jurassic period; how the Incas built Machu Pichu and why the Egyptians decided to build pyramids, basically why societies did what they did. It would be so interesting to see.

Leave a Reply

