Cassandra Clare’s The Dark Artifices: Lady Midnight

I absolutely love Cassandra Clare’s work and the latest instalment of her Shadowhunters series, Lady Midnight, does not disappoint in anyway! Although I bought it the day after release I have only been able to finish it today due to distractions of coursework and the like. The urge to not do my coursework and just read was unbelievable, but that’s life.

Clare’s writing is so enthralling and empathetic; with much loved characters it’s hard not to feel what they are feeling. You go through their emotions with them throughout their journey: feel loved when they feel loved; pain when they’re in pain. If you’re a book lover (addict is probably a better term for me) then you will understand what I mean when I say that. If like me you also pull the characters’ facial expressions as you read then you’ll understand why I don’t read in public: smirking at sassy one liners, smiling like a crazy person and eyebrow raising, to name but a few actions!

Clare has kept original characters that have appeared in the previous series: The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices alongside the eBook series The Bane Chronicles and The Shadowhunter Academy; she’s also brought even more excitement into the series by incorporating new characters to fall in love with.

Nevertheless, everyone should start reading The Mortal Instruments all the way through to Lady Midnight – if you haven’t already that is. You’ll thank me for it, even after you’ve felt every emotion under the sun, and those you didn’t believe you could physically feel…

I’m eagerly waiting for the next The Dark Artifices instalment and for The Shadowhunter Academy to be released in print format, what can I say? I love the smell of a new book and the opportunity to turn the page.

Last Midnight, Cassandra Clare £12.99 OUT NOW

image

Leave a Reply

