The Past Few Months

The past few months have been pretty busy… For months nothing happens and then all of a sudden a multitude of things happen all at once!

In April I was fortunate enough to attend three music gigs: The Vamps (Bradley Simpson, Connor Ball, James McVey & Tristan Evans – April 5th, Motorpoint Arena), 5SOS (Ashton Irwin, Calum Hood, Luke Hemmings & Michael Clifford – April 12th, Motorpoint Arena) and Counterfeit (Jamie Campbell Bower, Jimmy Craig, Roland Johnson, Sam Bower & Tristan Marmont – April 18th, Rock City). All three nights were amazing, I actually took my mum to the first two – she loves them as much as I do! The Vamps had an incredible four support acts:

  • Hometown: Brendan Murray, Cian Morrin, Dayl Cronin, Dean Gibbons, Josh Gray & Ryan McLoughlin – yes, this is the group Louis Walsh signed instead of the boy band he put together on The X Factor, Stereokicks
  • Conor Maynard
  • The Tide: Austin Corini, Drew Dirksen, Levi Jones & Nate Parker – The Vamps signed these LA based artists to their label last year and also had them on their last tour, where I, along with many, first fell in love with them
  • New Hope Club: Blake Richardson, George Smith and Reece Bibby – also signed to The Vamps’ label  and yes, THE Reece Bibby from Stereokicks; this is what now makes me happy that they were unable to get signed as both Reece and other former SK member Casey Johnson, now Union J member, are better off without Walsh

5 Seconds of Summer had only one support act on the night I saw them in Nottingham and I was not disappointed, as the American beauty was Jesserae – who I shall be seeing again at the end of next month at The BodegaCounterfeit, Jamie Campbell Bower led five piece rock band had also only one support act, London based Bellevue Days, consisting of Alan Smith, Dan Lukes, Joe Blackford & Jack Pavitt.

Tour Background

A collage, rather than many single photographs, clockwise from top left: Luke Hemmings and Calum Hood, Jessarae, New Hope Club with James McVey and Bradley Simpson, Connor Ball (Brad in background), James, Conor Maynard and Brad, Michael Clifford and Ashton Irwin, Counterfeit, Bellevue Days, Tristan Evans, Brad, Hometown and The Tide in the centre.

 

May brought the panic and terror of my coursework deadline – despite the fact I’d already finished – and a lot of revision to be done for my other subject’s exam. Whilst the start of June finally brought around the end of an era at my school/Sixth Form. I was emotionless except for relief in all honesty on the last day I was there – I’ll miss the memories; a handful of people from my classes, and a few teachers from my last years, but besides that I’m really happy that I’m no longer there and can relax for a little bit before hopefully starting a part-time job. September then brings the start of university after receiving my results mid August! On one hand I’m so excited to start the next journey of my life, but on the other I’m absolutely terrified of it being the start of something completely new and having to start the friend making process and finding my way around a new place again; at least I’ll be in the same city so I’ll know my way around to an extent.

Leave a Reply

