Christmas Is Coming

​Christmas is coming and my Christmas tree is up! Obviously I was watching Christmas films whilst I put it up yesterday and being a lover of Disney it will come as no surprise that that is exactly what my tree is covered in: Disney ornaments. Yes, I know it’s not even halfway through November yet; no, I don’t have any concept of time but I do love Christmas. Not the cold, wet weather that seems to make everybody ill, but the decorations, lights, food and drink – the joy of giving, whether it be a present; a compliment; a hug, kiss or a smile. The smallest things at this time of year seem to fill me with joy even more so than at any other time of the year.

This morning I woke up to the sight of my Christmas tree in my bedroom and instantly smiled. Of course, when I left my room the delight drained from me knowing that I had such a long day at university ahead of me. It wasn’t as bad as it could have been, we could have been doing more vox pops… Instead, we were filming trams – yes, it’s exactly how it sounds.

Due to the late finish at this time of year it’s naturally pitch black when I leave uni. However, travelling on buses in the dark is nothing like being a passenger in a car at night. Driving home through the countryside at night is just so magical. Being on a hot bus with screaming children is certainly not; I can’t even admire the ever changing colours of Autumn on the bus home because it’s so dark.

Thankfully, there are only a few more weeks left of this term before I get a whole month off. I’m certainly looking forward to that this year. I shall definitely be catching up on some much needed sleep between meeting up with friends and family in that time, and preparing assignments that are due in not long afterwards. Speaking of assignments, I really need to decide on a topic for my first assignment and get writing it…

New additions to my tree this year

Leave a Reply

