Confidence

Today I had the confidence to fully take off all of my eyeliner. I know it’s gross, but when I remove my eye makeup I remove majority of my mascara, but barely any of my eyeliner as I never like the way I look. And then I reapply it. I wear makeup to bed because I have the most irrational fear that if there’s a fire whilst I’m sleeping and I manage to escape I don’t want anybody to see me without makeup on. It’s so bad! Also, when I wake up and look in the mirror I don’t look as terrifying, haha. The hereditary bags under my eyes don’t seem as bad when I’ve got eyeliner on. But this morning I scrubbed it all off.

After removing it all I applied some mascara, and I actually felt pretty good looking in the mirror. I think I may have finally accepted the way I naturally look, with enhanced lashes, it’s took 20 years but I think I may finally be there. I don’t think I’ll be confident enough to go out in public with just mascara on just yet, if ever, but my confidence is definitely in a great place! Never in a million years did I think I would be happy with my natural beauty. (See feature photo – #ShowerHairDontCare)

I’m not one for wearing a lot of makeup: if you like me, you like me; if you don’t, you don’t. What you see is what you get. Other people feel confident when they contour their faces, but personally I couldn’t deceive myself or anyone else by completely changing the way I look. Also, the time and effort they must have to put in to apply all of the layers astounds me, I just couldn’t. If you’re a fan of contouring I applaud you, but chances are, you’re probably naturally beautiful anyway. Unfortunately, I feel as though people are too inspired by all the ‘flawless’ looking people online now days…

Leave a Reply

